Friday, June 9, 2023
HomeSportsICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier fixtures launched, West Indies, Sri Lanka in...

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier fixtures launched, West Indies, Sri Lanka in opposing groups

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier fixtures announced
Image Source : TWITTER ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier fixtures introduced

International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed World Cup 2023 Qualifier fixtures that shall be performed in Zimbabwe between June 18 and July 9. Qualifiers shall be performed to find out the final two spots in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 which is able to happen in India in October-November. Ten groups, together with former champions Sri Lanka and West Indies, are divided into two groups of 5 every with the highest three from every group progressing to the Super Six spherical. The high two groups from the Super Six stage shall be promoted to the ultimate and can qualify for the ICC 2023 World Cup.

Zimbabwe will host all matches at three completely different venues – Harare Sports Club, Queens Sports Club, and Takashinga Cricket Club. Zimbabwe will play Nepal in the opening match at Harare Sports Club, a venue that can host the ultimate fixture on July 9. Two-time champion West Indies are positioned in Group A with Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Nepal, and USA whereas the 1996 World Cup winners Sri Lanka lead Group B with Ireland, Scotland, Oman, and UAE. 

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice mentioned that rising groups competing in opposition to the previous champions for the World Cup spot show showcase of the worldwide sport.

“The countdown to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is getting into the ultimate phases and this occasion presents an unimaginable alternative for groups to earn a spot in the head occasion of one-day cricket. The stakes don’t get any larger in what shall be a really aggressive occasion loved by followers seeking to see who will be part of the eight groups which have already booked their tickets to India.

“With two former Men’s Cricket World Cup champions among the contenders as well as emerging cricket nations who are aiming to qualify for the first time, this unique event, featuring teams from Africa, the Americas, Asia, and Europe will be a showcase of the global game,” Geoff Allardice mentioned in an official assertion.

Group A: West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Netherlands, United States of America

Group B: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman, United Arab Emirates

Latest Cricket News

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular