Sunday, February 25, 2024
HomeSportsEngland announce two teams for New Zealand T20Is amid schedule clash with...

England announce two teams for New Zealand T20Is amid schedule clash with WPL 2024

Heather Knight and Lauren Bell
Image Source : GETTY Heather Knight and Lauren Bell throughout WBBL 2023

Amid a schedule clash with WPL 2024, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) introduced their squads for the New Zealand tour on Friday, February 2. Captain Heather Knight is a part of each ODIs and T20Is whereas nearly all of the WPL-bound gamers will characteristic in solely fourth and fifth T20Is.

The second version of the Women’s Premier League will get underway on February 23 and the ultimate will probably be performed on March 17. England’s eight-match while-ball tour to New Zealand is scheduled from March 19 which brought about the group captain Heather Knight and star pacer Lauren Bell to depart their respective WPL franchises final week.

However, England Director of England Women’s Cricket, Jonathan Finch, cooled down any schedule rift talks after asserting the teams for the New Zealand sequence. He revealed that the WPL rules do not enable participant substitute in mid-tournament so Bell and Knight withdrew to be totally out there for the New Zealand tour.

“The quick window of only one or two days between the top of the WPL and the primary IT20 in New Zealand has meant we now have wanted to steadiness the challenges of long-term workload administration for gamers, permitting participation within the WPL and making certain we give readability to the group of gamers getting ready for the primary three IT20s,” Finch stated. “As a outcome, we now have named two IT20 squads with the WPL gamers being out there for the fourth and fifth matches of the sequence. All gamers taking part within the WPL got our backing to stay in India for the period of the match.

“Lauren Bell and Heather Knight have withdrawn from the WPL to make sure they are often out there for all IT20 video games in New Zealand. They withdrew as soon as they learnt that the WPL rules do not enable for replacements mid-tournament, not wanting their respective WPL teams to be deprived by their early departure.“

England T20I squad vs New Zealand: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Lauren Filer, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones (wk), (Hollie Armitage, Linsey Smith – for first three matches) (Danni Wyatt, Sophie Ecclestone, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Alice Capsey – for fourth and fifth match)

England ODI squad vs New Zealand:  Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danni Wyatt

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular