Home Sports LSG vs PBKS: Shikhar Dhawan’s valiant effort in vain as Lucknow pull off maiden win of IPL 2024

LSG vs PBKS: Shikhar Dhawan’s valiant effort in vain as Lucknow pull off maiden win of IPL 2024

LSG vs PBKS: Shikhar Dhawan’s valiant effort in vain as Lucknow pull off maiden win of IPL 2024


Shikhar Dhawan's efforts in vain
Image Source : BCCI/IPL Shikhar Dhawan’s efforts in vain

Lucknow Super Giants pulled off a shocking comeback win to defeat Punjab Kings by 21 runs in the eleventh match of the Indian Premier League 2024 at Ekana Cricket Stadium on Saturday. 

Punjab Kings opener Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow added over 100 runs for the opening wicket however spectacular bowling spells from Mayank Yadav and Mohsin Khan boosted LSG to a powerful win.

Nicholas Pooran captained Lucknow immediately as KL Rahul surprisingly began as an impression participant. LSG handed IPL debuts to spinner Manimaran Siddarth and younger Delhi-born pacer Mayank Yadav with the latter making an instantaneous impression along with his tempo.

Punjab Kings bowlers had been spectacular in the powerplay overs with Arshdeep Singh eradicating Rahul and Sam Curran dismissing Devudutt Padikkal early in the powerplay. LSG managed to search out momentum by way of Quinton de Kock‘s fifty who ended his poor run of kind to silence his critics. 

Arshdeep dismissed de Kock in the 14th over however Punjab stored the hammering on with Pooran smashing 42 off simply 21 balls and Krunal Pandya including an unbeaten 43 off simply 22 balls in the closing levels. Curran took three wickets for 28 whereas Arshdeep picked two in his three overs for Punjab.

Punjab Kings replied impressively whereas chasing a 200-run goal with openers Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow including 102 runs for the opening wicket. Both Dhawan and Bairstow stored the sport in favour of Punjab however Pooran’s transfer to introduce debutant Mayank in the ninth over proved the distinction.

Mayank shifted the momentum with Bairstow’s wicket in the twelfth over and dominated the sport with uncooked tempo which clocked the best 155.8 kph. He additional dismissed Jitesh Sharam and Prabhsimran Singh to place Lucknow forward in the sport for the primary time. 

Mohsin Khan additionally made the distinction with two back-to-back wickets of Shikhar Dhawan and Sam Curran in the seventeenth over. Liam Livingstone smashed 28* off simply 17 balls to salvage some late consequence however Punjab fell 21 runs quick of the goal. Shikhar top-scored with 70 runs off 50 balls for Punjab whereas Mayank claimed the Player of the Match award for his 3/27 figures on his IPL debut.

Lucknow Super Giants Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), KL Rahul (substituted by Naveen-ul-Haq), Devdutt Padikkal, Ayush Badoni, Nicholas Pooran (c), Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Manimaran Siddharth.

Punjab Kings Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shashank Singh, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh (substituted by Prabhsimran Singh).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here